Meet the leaders behind GENUS.

GENUS is led by a number of dedicated board members and key individuals committed to achieving our vision, goals and mission.


Professor Jennifer Botha


As the Director of GENUS, Jennifer continues to developing and implementing strategic plans support palaeoscience research, nurture the next generation of palaeoscientists and making palaeoscience accessible to a wider community.

Dr Christine Steininger

Projects Director

As the Projects Director of Genus, Christine is developing a sustainable future for palaeoscience through strategic planning and fundraising.

Joy Mgabadeli

Grant Manager

Joy coordinates grant administration, solicits and writes grants to secure funding for researchers and projects. She produces research and financial reports, manages budgets, and provides valuable management information.

Tandi Scott-Turner

Science Engagement and Financial Officer

Tandi is responsible for managing our organization's finances, ensuring smooth financial operations. Additionally, she is dedicated to science engagement, connecting our grantees and partners with the broader public.

Dr Mariëtte van der Walt

Science Communication Officer

Mariette is a science nerd with PhD in Zoology, and a passion for cave-dwelling bats. As a National Geographic – NEWF Africa Refocused fellow and published scientist, she has transitioned from academic research to science storytelling. As the Sci Comm Officer for GENUS, she enjoys combining her scientific curiosity with her creativity to bridge the gap between science and society.

Julliet Maphutha

Science Communication Intern

Julliet is MSc candidate at the University of the Witwatersrand and a Science Communication Intern at GENUS. She writes and edits articles, promotes events and creates content for social media.

Chandelé Montgomery

Data Analyst

Chandelé is an MSc candidate at the University of the Witwatersrand and a data analyst for Genus. As a data analyst, she organizes, compiles, and analyzes various reports to ensure the organization operates effectively.